Idealism, Naiveity, Optimism. The Golden Mean

I watched “Enchanted” a few nights back. Before any comments about me indulging in something remotely feminine arise, let’s focus on the message of the movie: fairy tales in reality can come true! Thoughts? Your reflexive cynicism rears its uglyhead, but deep down inside, you kind of wish that this sort of thing really happened. I know I do. Yeah, that’s right. But where does one strike the delicate balance between being realistic and idealistic? Without idealism, the world would be a dark, grey place with little hope. One of my climbing buddies here in Brussels talked about that constant pursuit of the “golden mean” in one’s life, whether it be with oneself or handling the differences between two people in a relationship. He said this pursuit is fruitless and we should just accept things as is. I’ve never saw myself to be an optimist, but in comparison, my answer was pretty optimistic. I responded by saying that we have to accept our imperfections, but we must also attempt to overcome them. This also somehow spilled into the topic of evoking change in our fucked up world. Him: I, as one person, cannot evoke change. To an extent, I agree; I mean, look at Obama, arguably the most power individual in the world, and even his hands are tied. However, if I do not remain optimistic that I can do something, maybe not change the world (although the idea of “world” is very much an individual perception as the world is only as each person sees it to be), but perhaps bettering a small pocket. Yet, on a more personal note, I am rather pessimistic, although as my viewing of “Enchanted” indicated, I wish I was more optimistic about my relationships. There are many people whom I’ve met in myself and will probably never see again; I’ve come to grips with that and understand that our lives will deviate and we will grow apart. Natural progression. Yet someone in my life is/was arguably far more idealistic about the survival of our relationship, disregarding the fact that emailing in 3 years can only do so much. Is this idealism? Naiveity? Optimism? As I watch the days between emails become weeks, and most likely, will become monthly interludes before they stop completely, a part of me wishes I could see us keeping our relationship even though we won’t see each for almost 3 years.

Leave a Reply

